ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Lawyers on the board, I have a question

YoUnG-Ru-FaN-FL

All American
Feb 16, 2002
If you could be so kind, if anyone is familiar with copyright laws or ownership rights, I would greatly appreciate your help here.

I work as a freelance video game journalist for a couple websites. Some are paid, some aren't. On this particular site, I am not paid. From time to time, the owner of the site will take my articles, change their authorship to his name, and then use that to get into conventions or industry trade shows. My question is, do I own my articles or the rights to them? I never signed a contract or agreement, and I am not paid for my work there. There was no monetary exchange for said articles.

Basically I guess what I'm asking is, by law, is he allowed to change the authorship of articles I have written? I know this isn't going anywhere, but I'm about to leave the site and I know that this guy makes at least 100k a year off the website, which is a fact I have just recently come across, and in about two years I have written almost 400 articles for the site which is almost 10% of the total content written (just under 10% of all articles).

I'm backing everything up now onto a wordpress account, which is going to take a while (since I still have access), but if someone who is familiar with this could let me know what they think I would really appreciate it.

I am no lawyer but it sounds like you are the author but he owns the content as do you. That doesn't give him the right to change the author. But if you give me an article to publish in my free newspaper, and I publish it, I believe I certainly have the right to republish it unless specified in our agreement. It sounds like you gave your content away for free.

As far as recognition for writing the article, he absolutely can not steal that. That is forgery.