ADVERTISEMENT

Change of Donations

tomatocan

Sophomore
Gold Member
Jan 26, 2005
I am a 1970 graduate, and for the last 30+ years I have made annual donations to the Rutgers football and basketball programs. My reward has been an almost constant stagnation of progress by these two programs. Sure, we can all point out individual spikes in improvement over the years, but they are consistently followed by drops to mediocre to just plain poor performance. Coaches come and go, ADs come and go, and players come and go, but the results remain the dreary same.

I say this because it finally dawned on me that my philanthropy to Rutgers sports needs a new direction. Baseball, soccer, lacrosse, wrestling, tennis, and even golf and the rugby club (which I played four years for) are just as deserving of financial help as the football and basketball teams. They have proven, for the most part, to be competitive in the B1G, and provide more on-field enjoyment for my family. It's time for me to recognize these teams instead.

I am a 1970 graduate, and for the last 30+ years I have made annual donations to the Rutgers football and basketball programs. My reward has been an almost constant stagnation of progress by these two programs. Sure, we can all point out individual spikes in improvement over the years, but they are consistently followed by drops to mediocre to just plain poor performance. Coaches come and go, ADs come and go, and players come and go, but the results remain the dreary same.

I say this because it finally dawned on me that my philanthropy to Rutgers sports needs a new direction. Baseball, soccer, lacrosse, wrestling, tennis, and even golf and the rugby club (which I played four years for) are just as deserving of financial help as the football and basketball teams. They have proven, for the most part, to be competitive in the B1G, and provide more on-field enjoyment for my family. It's time for me to recognize these teams instead.
What's a tomato can?