ADVERTISEMENT

How would you improve the Rutgers game day experience?

BROTHERSKINNY

Heisman Winner
Oct 21, 2010
I have been coming to Rutgers games for 30+ years now. When I started coming to RU games I was a young man, single and honestly the only reason we came to the games was to pick up chicks, drink and sometimes see the game.
fast forward 30 plus years, I still tailgate with the same crew although our group has gotten smaller as people have gotten older and moved out of state.
anyhow, when I was young I would park in Johnson park, walk from there to our tailgate in the blue lot, then reverse after the game. I did that for 20 + years with no problems.
fast forward to today and we are now in the purple lot and I walk from the bubble to our tailgate in purple. The issue is on the way to the bubble as the bus turns off from frelinghysen road to the service road, there is a wide open paved parking lot that would be perfect for a drop off point for those in the blue lot and the purple lot. The bus drivers won’t do it. This would save me a 1/2 mile walk and 20 minutes of tailgate time before the game. This would greatly enhance the game day experience for me and the many others who I see walking with me back towards the blue lot and purple lot.
what other enhancements would improve the game day experience for you?

Reactions: RU22
Would create a danger to the pedestrians as they would cross the path of the bus traffic to get to Blue or Purple. Where they drop off now the direction of movement is controlled.
For me the piped in music is a significant issue...too much and way too loud.

Would create a danger to the pedestrians as they would cross the path of the bus traffic to get to Blue or Purple. Where they drop off now the direction of movement is controlled.
Bingo. What's the point of having a damn marching band when they barely play? It ain't an NFL game so knock it off with the over the top piped in music.