ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Need some good ideas to raise funds for a HS band

kapyoche

All American
Sep 11, 2010
My son attends a public HS and his band will double in size next year. Being in the band is becoming cool again where I live.

As you know that a HS band requires a lot of resources so I will be assisting raising funds.

Since I am familiar with the sales process, I thought this is where I can help the most.

I have never done this before. I always thought this was a job for moms. I want to prove that dads can do this job just as well, if not better.

Has any dad here done this?

What works and what doesn't work?

Please send me any creative ideas you have.

Not original thinking but it worked: Once a year the kids went, in uniform, door to door asking for contributions. Of course this was done under supervision.

I assisted in fund raising with my daughter's soccer team. The team had previously held car washes. They encountered many issues, especially with bad weather on the scheduled dates of the event.

I decided to approach a local car wash to purchase discounted books of tickets. We sold the tickets in books of 5 at face value and made about $2.50 per ticket and thus made $12.50 on each book that we sold. People were happy to buy the books as they were getting something they would normally purchase and could use them whenever they wished. Additionally, they were happy to help the team. So it was a win-win and the team made 3X the profit that they made in previous years on good weather days.

Reactions: beaced
What are the Booster organizations like at the HS ? if any are good - pick their brains - and try to be mindful to not duplicate things that they may be already doing.

- some local restaurants will do a "Band Support night" - & give you 5-10% of the food bill for the night - you promote it - & get lots of customers - win-win