ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Parent based Student Loan Advise needed

PeteGiam07

All Conference
Aug 29, 2007
I'd rather not give extensive details here, but if anyone is willing to talk in private messages it would be a great help.

Long story short.... Fiance is in huge student loan debt due to a Parent based student loan. Her interest rate is crazy to me at 7.5% and apparently we can't get it refinanced, lowered, or changed into her name alone due to her "parents" credit not being good enough.

I'm not well educated in student loans and I thought they were mostly based on an income-pay off rate when it comes to refinancing not just a credit. How can we get this 7.5% lowered and/or get this in her name? She is currently paying 1K a month to pay this and it is hurting us financially. We get no help from her parents on payments.

Thanks in advance.

I don't have great advice for you about this situation. When I graduated I got a second job at Sears working nights and weekends. Every penny from that job went into the Sears 401k, employee stock purchase program and to my student loans. Always pay more then the minimum. Pay of the one with the lower interest first by adding extra principle then roll that amount into the next one. I use this philosophy with everything. We used to have 2 car payment. Paid off my wife's car and now I am paying 1100 dollars per month on mine. 60 months down to 22 as I am hitting an extra grand a month in principle. Once that paid off 50% in saving for the next car and 50% towards the house.

Reactions: MozRU
I had a similar situation but it was over 12 years ago and bank/credit/loan process was very different.

I took the $20k parent loan and paid it in full with a balance transfer to an Amex Blue Card. Amex was offering a 0% on balance transfers on up to $20k for I think 3 years. I paid around $550-600 a month and paid it off.

Not sure if you are dealing with more than $20k in parent loans or you can get a credit offer like that now.