ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Poor forcasting

RocktheRac

Heisman Winner
Sep 10, 2001
WTF is up with forcasting the weather 1 day out. On Tues/Wed the forcast for today called for rain heavy at times with an inch of rain with even snow northern NJ. Completely washout I heard. And they were calling this as early as Monday. Now its maybe a shower lol. As a landscaper I have to plan according to the weather reports. This was a complete bust as I now have to rearrange the rest of the work week.

Though I didn't actually watch the weather forecasts this week, I did hear rumors of a Noreaster, which are always tough to predict.

In the last few years weather forecasting has really gotten bad. I now mostly just look at the radar and make my own guess. I fell like I am more accurate than there futurecast.

Reactions: Knight Ed
My father always said if you arrange your work according to the weather forecast you'll go broke.
It's got to be rough to manage a business where the weather can have a big impact on operations, because there is still so little confidence in any forecasts.

My job planned the week for today to be a washout. Heh.
Luckily we have some contingencies to keep everybody busy.

Reactions: RocktheRac
I figured the Mets game at noon today would get banged, but they might sneak it in. Horrible forecasting. What other profession can you be wrong the majority of the time?

Reactions: bac2therac
I figured the Mets game at noon today would get banged, but they might sneak it in. Horrible forecasting. What other profession can you be wrong the majority of the time?
Baseball all you have to do is hit the ball 25 % of the time for a single or better

Reactions: rurichdog