ADVERTISEMENT

What's up with Brower Commons?

RobertG

Heisman Winner
Gold Member
Jul 25, 2001
My Daughter says it's horrible and they go to Livingston to eat?

Reactions: asgot
My Daughter says it's horrible and they go to Livingston to eat?
It was bad when I was a student in the late 2000s. It can't be any better now. Hopefully the new College Ave dining hall starts being built so they can knock down that monstrosity.

One of the best things about moving off campus was never having to see the inside of Brower Commons again.

I was surprised by the original post because I thought Brower's food had always been terrible, and that everybody knew it. And, as @bac2therac indicates, the building is horrible -- Rutgers architecture at its worst.

Reactions: bac2therac
Why is Livingston so much better? Different vendors?

I went to Rutgers in early 2010s and loved Brower. Yes Livingston has better food but Brower has a much better vibe

It sucked when I was there too in the 00's

It was bad when I was a student in the late 2000s. It can't be any better now. Hopefully the new College Ave dining hall starts being built so they can knock down that monstrosity.

I was there same period and I thought they "fancified" Brower since and brought it in line w/ Busch and Nielsen (which were the two best at that time). Literally walking back to my car yesterday I heard a student call Busch Dining Hall "so nice in there."

Its an embarrassing structure
That's the danger of using fad architectural design. Sadly, RU hasn't learned this lesson. Some of the more recent buildings are going to look like S in the coming years as well.

Why is Livingston so much better? Different vendors?
Better\newer tech for serving\keeping food fresh.
That's the danger of using fad architectural design. Sadly, RU hasn't learned this lesson. Some of the more recent buildings are going to look like S in the coming years as well.