ADVERTISEMENT

when did Rutgers stop having a “college” feel?

kennyschiano

All Conference
Gold Member
May 12, 2005
i just read the article in the passing of Nicholas Rutgers and it said he was the Grand Marshall of the homecoming parade in 1989. I graduated in ‘04. One of my beliefs/negative associations with Rutgers when I graduated was that it didn’t have a “college” feel. It didn’t have a homecoming parade, things you see or hear about in the SEC or in the Midwest. When and why did Rutgers change? Thanks.

Here's how I see it....some former students appear to lament it after the fact, but while they are students many of them had little to no interest in many of the traditional "collegiate" aspects of the experience. At least that was my experience in terms of the few different groups/circles that I ran in....could barely get anyone to really bother with the things that Rutgers did have going on that would be collegiate in nature. Most thought those activities were stupid, corny, and a waste of time.

Rutgers didn't always make it easy by not promoting things as much as they could have, I suppose. But things weren't completely unadvertised, either...the information was out there for those interested in and willing to seek it out.

i just read the article in the passing of Nicholas Rutgers and it said he was the Grand Marshall of the homecoming parade in 1989. I graduated in ‘04. One of my beliefs/negative associations with Rutgers when I graduated was that it didn’t have a “college” feel. It didn’t have a homecoming parade, things you see or hear about in the SEC or in the Midwest. When and why did Rutgers change? Thanks.

I think a lot of that happened with the Reorganization of Higher Education in 2006. A lot of those traditional associations were unfortunately broken when Rutgers College was dissolved into SAS. Douglass College still participates in a lot of its older traditions such as sacred path.