ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Contract Law

LinDan516

Junior
Gold Member
Dec 27, 2005
NJ
If anyone has any law experience I would greatly appreciate it. I signed up for a merchant services / credit card processing machine for my business. I am a busy physician in a smaller practice with 1 employee, my wife. I was sold one service but the actual service I received was far different. I was told about $2.50 monthly service fees and 2% fees on each transaction. What I got was something totally different. I was immediately charged a $400 yearly fee, $90 per terminal, and $25 monthly fees. I argues the matter and in the first 3 months I was billed every month and eventually refunded the money. After 3 month I decided to cancel the machine as it was a much bigger headache than anticipated. Of course there is a $495 cancellation fee (which was in the contract and I don't dispute). I sent a letter to the company in Feb 2014 stating that I wanted to cancel. I Sent it via fax with transmission report showing it was sent and received. My wife handles the banking and I see the patients so I don't follow the bank accounts daily. I recently learned from my wife that we were billed each month for the remainder of 2014. When I contacted the company they stated that they did not receive the fax and therefore they are not refunding the money for 2014 monthly fees (approximately $300) or putting it towards the $495 cancellation fee.