ADVERTISEMENT

Which Home Game to Attend?

RUforester72

All Conference
Jul 23, 2014
Bend Oregon
I graduated in '72 and never looked back. Its been a long time since I've even been on campus. While I have gone to all the west coast games in the past few years, I am planning a trip back (I live in Oregon) for a home game this fall. My question is: Which game? Which game would give me the best "RU Home Game" experience (independent of the outcome!)?

I plan to arrive early enough to spend a day or two looking around the campus, which probably looks pretty different that when I left in '72. Will also need some recs on bars and hotel.

for Game Day experience I'd pick Michigan or Penn State, hopefully one of them will be an 8pm game because that will give you max game day experience. There is also the Illinois game which will be homecoming, but homecoming is rarely a night game.

downtown New Brunswick hotels are the Hyatt and the Heldrich. I'm partial to the Heldrich. both are walking distance to the shuttle in NB to get you to the game.

George Street and Easton Ave is chock full of bars and restaurants. you'll have to be more specific as to what you are seeking

the link below is a few years old but still a lot of current information in it. If you are getting to town a few days early you will be able to get into the Hale Center which is closed to visitors on Game Day.

http://texanmarktailgate.blogspot.com/2011/07/rutgers-tailgate-and-visitors-guide-11.html

I'm not sure how old this link is but lots of info here as well

https://rutgers.rivals.com/content.asp?SID=988&CID=525181

Last edited:
These are the home games.

09/10/16 vs. Howard
09/17/16 vs. New Mexico
09/24/16 vs. Iowa
10/08/16 vs. Michigan
10/15/16 vs. Illinois
11/05/16 vs. Indiana
11/19/16 vs. TTFP

I'd suggest Iowa, Michigan or Indiana - the first 2 are probably gonna be too warm, Illinois is Homecoming as mentioned above, and TTFP has the possibility of being too cold.