ADVERTISEMENT

NJ4Life with the BB post of the last 20 years

rutgersal

Hall of Famer
Gold Member
Jun 7, 2001
Took this from the Round Table. Its great to get the perspective of a NJ Coach.

Originally posted by NJ4life:
Guys, I need you to please understand something. As a coach, I want to send my players to the best situation and and situation that has everything they need to be successful. Schools with all of this extra stuff fits the bill. Why you may ask? Additional practice time, access to more equipment and a place of bonding that really helps good teams come together. For instance, Kentucky has a vertimax machine for the entire time. It's a reason a player like Karl Anthony Towns is more polished/athletic now than he was before he got there. As a parent, you don't think I can't see the lack of support a program has? Why would I subject my son to that?

All the NJ players see and hear all the negatives and will not put their future in jeopardy to stay home. My co worker graduated from Ohio St. and made this observation to me today. NJ does not promote itself to the state. Do you guys even know the top ten players in the state? Why is that? Why don't we embrace our sports and paint the state RED with the block R everywhere. Lastly, history is key. We have no one to show as an example. Football can say about the NFL players and basketball has nothing. My name on this board is NJ4life but I would not send my son to a NJ school if he was a high major player. I have family that graduated from RU and SHU and know the value of a RU degree. It's just the facts that you have to accept and not blame it on a coach. I wouldn't send my son to play for coach K without a track record of or a committment to success.

I will add on to this with a business example:

Let's say you have job offers from Apple, Google and Blackberry as an Engineer and are weighing the options.