ADVERTISEMENT

OT:Private Schools, Are they worth the cost?

rutgersdave

Hall of Famer
Jan 23, 2004
If your kids are going to private schools, what are the cost and is it worth it? Pre-school, K-8th grade or high school. If you have limited resources, which would you consider most important, pre-school, k-8, or HS please rank.

I would assume after all the private school, you would expect a highly rated private school or a Va or Michigan type school.

It's not necessary to send kids to private elementary schools.

We made the choice to send the girls to private (parochial) high school. It was a definite win.

I have a lot of experience with this decision - like all major family/fiscal decisions this is a tough one and there are a number of data points to look at and you need a bit of a filter in looking at them to understand how some stats may be misleading (ie, college placement data). I have kids in private school now including one in the college app process (rising senior) and I'd be happy to share my thoughts and mode of analysis. If you would like to chat send me your email and I will send you my phone #.

Last edited:
If your kids are going to private schools, what are the cost and is it worth it? Pre-school, K-8th grade or high school. If you have limited resources, which would you consider most important, pre-school, k-8, or HS please rank.

I would assume after all the private school, you would expect a highly rated private school or a Va or Michigan type school.
Nope. Save the money and hand it to your kid wen they graduate college. Hundreds of thousands of dollars would be a pretty sweet nest egg for them and go about as far as the extra connections they would get from private school.

Unless you live in a really bad neighborhood. Then it would be worthwhile to not have to deal with potential bad influences on so regular a basis.

Reactions: RU-AGK
Nope, bought is a great school district, using money for college.