ADVERTISEMENT

New restaurants in New Brunswick target Rutgers students

Tango Two

Aug 21, 2001
North Brunswick, New Jersey
"Back in the day, the Rutgers restaurant scene was known for its ‘grease trucks’ and ‘Fat Cats,’ a student staple which combined burgers and fries in a sandwich and offered the added bonus of being delivered.
“When I was a student here, you pretty much only had your choice of run-of-the-mill pizza, more pizza, and deli,” said Bruce Jones, who graduated from Rutgers in 2010 and now owns Mexican fusion eatery Papa Grande Grille on Easton Avenue. “But the restaurant scene on Easton has totally changed,” he said. “I would have loved to have had the options we have now."

http://www.mycentraljersey.com/story/life/2015/09/29/restaurants-rutgers-new-brunswick/72555686/

I'll be sure to skip Papa Grande Grille if I'm in the area. What a stupid, transparent mischaracterization - RU has always had plenty of fast food options, and a Mexican-burger place isn't exactly breaking new ground.

I'll be sure to skip Papa Grande Grille if I'm in the area. What a stupid, transparent mischaracterization - RU has always had plenty of fast food options, and a Mexican-burger place isn't exactly breaking new ground.

Silly reason. Their mango chicken quesadilla is really good.

"Back in the day, the Rutgers restaurant scene was known for its ‘grease trucks’ and ‘Fat Cats,’ a student staple which combined burgers and fries in a sandwich and offered the added bonus of being delivered.
“When I was a student here, you pretty much only had your choice of run-of-the-mill pizza, more pizza, and deli,” said Bruce Jones, who graduated from Rutgers in 2010 and now owns Mexican fusion eatery Papa Grande Grille on Easton Avenue. “But the restaurant scene on Easton has totally changed,” he said. “I would have loved to have had the options we have now."

http://www.mycentraljersey.com/story/life/2015/09/29/restaurants-rutgers-new-brunswick/72555686/