ADVERTISEMENT

Good news

I am surprised that the jurisdiction of the RUPD is so limited. When, ages ago, I was a Berkeley student, the University of California Police Department had jurisdiction for up to a mile away from the campus. I also do not think that the RUPD in Camden are as limited as RUPD in New Brunswick. In Camden, the Camden police are very grateful for any patrol help they can get. I wonder why it's not the same in New Brunswick.

Simply outrageous.

RU owns University Center (Easton and Somerset) right down from the well known hot spot at Condict and Somerset..,.yet can't police that area?

What reason could there possibly be EVER for RUPD to be restricted from patrolling an area that has to be at least 75% RU students?

There has been a very notable increase in crime surrounding campus this winter...are we supposed to believe it's a coincidence?

Should RU be sued in any of these, RU needs to third party the NBPD, but it should be in the process of getting a TRO to demand the mapping be changed back. Who the hell are these knuckleheads to place students in danger?

The NBPD or Port Authority are in a death battle to be the most corrupt, wasteful, overpaid, and useless public entities in NJ which is saying something.

It might be overlooked that this is specifically about traffic stops. "Title 39 authority" means the motor vehicle code.

Do not know if it affects RUPD being a principle response agency in the 5th and 6th ward. Does not seem to mention that.

It certainly does NOT mean RUPD is limited from enforcing the criminal code "Title 2C" anywhere in the city.

I think it is stupid for NBPD to want less enforcement of traffic laws anywhere in their jurisdiction. Makes you wonder why they would want that?

RU must *love* this publicity. It is incredible that the University is allowing this to pass without lifting a finger.

Barchi keeps talking about improving the message. What is the message here? How does this make RU more attractive?