ADVERTISEMENT

OT: "I'm a brain scientist and I let my son play football"

ashokan

Hall of Famer
May 3, 2011
When the autopsy results for Aaron Hernandez were released the media and its various "experts" were quick to blame football for the deposition of tau proteins in the frontal lobes of AH's brain. It was never mentioned that drugs can also affect the tau proteins that gets blamed for CTE. Hernandez was a prodigious drug user (lots of PCP) and failed many tests since hs started using heavy in 2006.

The constant misrepresentation of the tau situation is mentioned in this excellent CTE article

"I'm a brain scientist and I let my son play football"

By Dr. Peter Cummings

My name is Peter Cummings. I am a forensic pathologist and a neuropathologist, which means I study brain trauma for a living. I am also a football coach and I let my 11-year-old son play football. I may be the only neuropathologist on Earth who lets his kid play football.

Coming to this decision was a serious undertaking and the result of many hours spent pouring over medical journals and football rulebooks.

Before I began this journey, football was banned in my house. I wouldn’t even watch it on TV because I didn’t want my son to see it and develop a desire to play. Despite my efforts, he discovered football via a video game. He immediately fell in love with the sport and I was forced to do some serious soul searching: Should I allow him to pursue his interest and play?

Honestly, I was scared of CTE.

CTE stands for “chronic traumatic encephalopathy”; in real words it means damage to the brain caused by repetitive injury. The hallmark of CTE is the deposition of a protein called ‘tau’ in the brain. Tau has a number of functions, including stabilizing the structure of nerve cells. When nerves are injured, tau builds up and can cause problems.