ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Mike Rice

Good for Mike. I always loved Rice and he’s been coaching a very successful aau program for a while now down the shore.

I am happy for Mike and hope he can help lead my Alma mater to much success. For many years Linden has been one of the top ten teams in the state. They have always been known for basketball. Mike is good coach and hopefully he can keep his cool. I am glad he is getting another chance.

I am happy for Mike and hope he can help lead my Alma mater to much success. For many years Linden has been one of the top ten teams in the state. They have always been known for basketball. Mike is good coach and hopefully he can keep his cool. I am glad he is getting another chance.
As a Linden HS grad I hope he can win one for my school.

Reactions: SeanieWard
Mike had spent time at The Patrick school, formerly St. Patrick’s. This is just another step in his reform/climb up.

Great writeup by Jerry Carino. Mike paid the price for his misdeeds. Did not realize he had a shot as an assistant at St Johns. His son Mike III is in the coaching ranks.

Also had not realized he lives in Rumson. Figured it out, he was right down the street from us when we lived there. About 10 years ago, I literally almost ran into him on the trails in Hartshorne Woods while riding my mountain bike- it was a very brief encounter--I was shocked it was him. Very briefly asked him- "Are you Mike Rice?" He said yes, and I wished him luck.

Wonder if he’s still gonna be running team rio for hoop group?

I think he was doing pretty well making a decent sized bank for them so would be surprised if he gave that up for a public school job.

Does Linden take out-of-towners like Camden and the far-reaching parochials? That’s what it takes to succeed in NJ high school hoops.

Reactions: Kbee3
The whole fiasco was phony outrage