ADVERTISEMENT

GAME 4: Honeymoon Over

bac2therac

Legend
Gold Member
Jul 30, 2001
Belle Mead NJ
I was a student back in the late 80s/early 90s where playing St Bonaventure evoked audible laughter as they were an atrocious bottom feeder. Through the years, we have seen the ineptitude of Rutgers for almost 30 years while the Bonnies shook off their doormat status somewhat, yeah only 3 NCAAs in that time but its 3 more than RU and now St Bonaventure has beaten RU the last two games. Somethings change, something stay the same....same old Rutgers. And it truly is same ole Rutgers until something changes and the glaring reality is that Rutgers has not finished over 500 since 2006 yet we are seeing some sort of hype and expectations of post season this year that makes you scratch your head given the first 4 games.

So many things disturbed me about this game but in retrospect the level of play vs Bryant and Drexel was quite telling. When your experienced players are struggling against those kind of teams where you are life and death and your guards cannot hit the broadside of a barn, Its pretty easy to see as the level of competition rises that its going to bite you in the ass and it did. I am not going to give too much credit to RU playing better in the 2nd half....they did..and its a shame because if they played like they did the full 40 minutes they would have won the game. The D tightened up on the Bonnies and held them down to like 3 points for almost 6 minutes. The game was lost in the first half, you cannot go down 19 on a neutral court that was pro Bonnies and expect to win. The team is soft and lacks toughness (yes cliche terms I know), seems way overconfident in just how good they are and in the approach to the game. Mentally this team isnt not good at being the hunted at all.