ADVERTISEMENT

Kemoko Dragon Tees Are Designed...

DirtyRU

All American
Gold Member
Nov 16, 2002
... and ready to go. Only problem is legal. You see it has his full name AND his likeness on the tee... Without his written consent. I'm no lawyer but I'm guessing the only way to pull it off then is to make the tshirts 100% free not-for-profit. So where does that leave me? It leaves me in need of someone to print the tees for free and, assuming people dig them (art is subjective), then we would need someone or someones to do a bulk order of plain scarlet tees and eat the cost. So yeah this might not work.

Side note- I will post the design when I get back up to my office. Also FYI neither the word Rutgers nor the R logo appear on this thing, so other than the fact that he is on the roster, there is no other tangible affiliation to the school.
Posted from Rivals Mobile

I'm not a lawyer either, but I suspect that there is a strong possibility that you could be forcing him to choose between protecting his likeness and right to control intellectual property based on it, and maintaining his NCAA eligibility.

If you create the shirts without his consent (even if they're not-for-profit), I would guess you'd be potentially running afoul of intellectual property laws -- though I doubt you would be sued for it if you weren't making any money.

Right, so I guess the safe and really the only route for me to take is to get rid of his name and his face. Anyway, I will post it in about 20 minutes or so. Will be easier for people to discuss if they can actually see it. Not sure everyone's gonna dig it but I think some will.
Posted from Rivals Mobile

Hopefully the NCAA can get their sh*t together and allow these kids to collect on the sales and marketing of their likeness while in school and have funds banked in escrow until they get out.

GO RU

Originally posted by satnom: