ADVERTISEMENT

Rutgers Players Message To Students

As always, they need a reason to come out and support. The hardest part is keeping it up through the season, especially if it becomes another long season.

Sadly many students would rather just remain partying at their off-campus houses or rooms as a result of being harassed by overzealous law enforcement in the parking lots during prior years.

very true!
Noticed muted presence past week by MCSD - may take a year(s) to undo the perceived harassment environment.

My daughter would not tailgate campus due to MCSD PRESENCE - THAT WAS TWO YEARS BACK.

Even though I graduated over 10 years ago the police in the lots still consistently pull me out of the crowd to ID me. I have literally been sitting down, having a beer, and they make me get up and show my ID. I would understand if I was standing on top of a car being rowdy that I would attract police attention but I am quite calm at this point in my life. I can see why the students do not want to deal with that.

There are a lot of students who board the gameday buses at College Ave (or walk over Landing Lane Bridge), get off on River Road and walk straight into the stadium with no tailgates to stop at.

very true!
Noticed muted presence past week by MCSD - may take a year(s) to undo the perceived harassment environment.

My daughter would not tailgate campus due to MCSD PRESENCE - THAT WAS TWO YEARS BACK.

To be fair, If you don't act like rowdy jerk offs who walk into other peoples tailgates or drive into the the lot with a truck full of 30packs of Natty Ice and no food just asking for trouble.

I agree the students need to get back in the lots, but they also need to realize that acting like jerk offs will cause the police to come and break up their party. That has not changed in the 20 years since I graduated and should never change. Party Responsibly and don't bring attention to yourself.