ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Any help with large email lists using Outlook running on Gmail?

RU848789

Legend
Gold Member
Jul 27, 2001
Metuchen, NJ
This board is often a good source of useful info/help on many topics, so here goes. I'm new to GMail on my home laptop, so it's possible I just don't understand it well enough. My issue is I'm retiring in 2 weeks and using my work email (Outlook) I've been sending weather-related emails to about 300 people (a nearly static list that might add a few people every month or so) without any issue whatsoever for many years. However, I recently tried sending a weather email from my home PC via GMail (using Outook) to a subset of about 120 of my regular recipients as a test and 37 of the emails were bounced back to me with the message: "Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients" followed by a list of 37 people that didn't get the email. There appeared to be two types of rejected email error codes (of the 37) within the email detailing the rejections and these are below.

I've been reading a lot of discussions on line on what to do about email recipient limits, especially for new Gmail users as a way to prevent spamming, but I'll admit I'm confused by all the info. Some say use Google Groups, since my list is fairly static, as I'm not marketing anything, just providing a service to friends and coworkers, but that kind of looks like a group forum more than a way to use large email lists, while others say to try GMass or third party email services like MailChimp or ConstantContact. I'd much, much prefer to stay with GMail and Outlook, as I've been using Outlook for ~20 years and am quite fluent in it and loathe the idea of having to learn a whole new email program.