ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Need attic exhaust fan advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.

DJ Spanky

The Lunatic is in my Head
Jul 25, 2001
In our townhouse, we have a steeply pitched roof built using prebuilt trusses. Near the peak is an exhaust fan which isn't working. It appears to be temperature controlled, but I have no experience with this. As far as I can tell, there's a single power wire which runs up to a box, which then feeds the fan. At the base of that wire is a switch, which is fed from another electrical box which also has a lightbult in it. (The only light for the attic.) Also attached to that box appears to be a temperature control of some type with a small brown wire leading off that to who knows where.

First steps right now are finding which circuit controls the power, then building a ladder to the upper level of the attic so I can actually get up there. But after that I need to diagnose how this system works and what's broken. So I appreciate any input from those who have experience with this.

In our townhouse, we have a steeply pitched roof built using prebuilt trusses. Near the peak is an exhaust fan which isn't working. It appears to be temperature controlled, but I have no experience with this. As far as I can tell, there's a single power wire which runs up to a box, which then feeds the fan. At the base of that wire is a switch, which is fed from another electrical box which also has a lightbult in it. (The only light for the attic.) Also attached to that box appears to be a temperature control of some type with a small brown wire leading off that to who knows where.

First steps right now are finding which circuit controls the power, then building a ladder to the upper level of the attic so I can actually get up there. But after that I need to diagnose how this system works and what's broken. So I appreciate any input from those who have experience with this.