ADVERTISEMENT

Rutgers Status of Significant Projects - 24 Mar 15

The buildings immediately around the building are either going to be low rises, houses or are owned by RU. The Gateway is as close as high rises are going to get.

Construction is currently being completed on the Aspire, a 17-story private building less than 500 feet away, across Easton Ave.

While overall I would say our campuses are much improved, I can't help but feel opportunities to really impress have been missed. That is my fear with the lot 8 buildings across from vorhees mall. My main concern is he building facade. The height doesn't bug me much.

The recent construction on Livingston is a good example. The new buildings have brought new life to that campus. The dorms, dining hall, student center and business school building have all improved things. Landscaping and walkways really helped too. But unfortunately each building is disconnected architecturally from its neighbors. Now I'm no expert here just someone who was standing in front of the dorms the other day looking at how much nicer and vibrant things were on livingston, but I couldn't help but notice the dining hall facade in one style/color stucco, the dorms in another, the b school all in glass, Janice Levine in late 80s red brick and beck and the dorms in the background in brown brick. A campus is a place where people come together for common purposes. If these buildings had something in common it would support that cause so much more and create the feeling everyone wants when walking through a college campus. That feeling as one said (I can't remember who) that important things happen there. All of these buildings are nice and the campuses much improved but they could be so much more with just more attention to detail so they compliment one another visually and form a true campus. I hope they don't look like a hodgepodge in 20 years.