ADVERTISEMENT

OT Hugh Hefner 88

FELONIOUSMONK

Heisman Winner
Apr 1, 2012
Another icon passes.He was responsible in his own way for a lot of very happy men,and women, in the past 60 years.

Hmm, Google news search- Nada. Twitter search, the only thing that comes up is this:

01b881a4bcf095a2d5fc42374a04432f.jpg

Anyone remember the Playboy Club in ....Sussex County NJ! ? Probably Vernon, Great Gorge

Was there a few times, who the heck comes up with the idea to put a Playboy club in the middle of farm country ?

Years later when the NFL was on strike , NBC put on boxing matches up there to fill up programming time, and I was a very young sports writer for NJ Boxing News, working for practically nothing, but free tickets and the thrill of a 'by line', and got to cover a few boxing fights at the Playboy Club and ..get this...
Waterloo Village, in Stanhope, lol.

They had bars at both Playboy Club and Waterloo Village so at least got a buddy to tag along, watch fights, get somewhat hammered, and go home and type up boxing articles on an old fashioned electric typewriter.

Got to cover Michael and Leon Spinks, Larry Holmes, and a few others.

Anyone remember the Playboy Club in ....Sussex County NJ! ? Probably Vernon, Great Gorge

Was there a few times, who the heck comes up with the idea to put a Playboy club in the middle of farm country ?

Years later when the NFL was on strike , NBC put on boxing matches up there to fill up programming time, and I was a very young sports writer for NJ Boxing News, working for practically nothing, but free tickets and the thrill of a 'by line', and got to cover a few boxing fights at the Playboy Club and ..get this...

They had bars at both Playboy Club and Waterloo Village so at least got a buddy to tag along, watch fights, get somewhat hammered, and go home and type up boxing articles on an old fashioned electric typewriter.

Good story Abro1975. Very different times back then.