• Honor the Past

Votes: 12 24.5%
  • Look to the Future

Votes: 37 75.5%

• Total voters

RC66

Senior
Jun 9, 2009
For argument’s sake: assume the 2017-18 roster has enough talent, whomever the coach, to be dancing in March 2018.

Which of these do we choose?

Honor the Past: we owe it to CVS to let her go out on a better note than 2016-17.

OR

Look to the Future: give a new coach a first year and second year roster that has enough talent so that she or he can start with a couple of winning seasons and recruit and build from there.

What a cruel choice to have to make.

Reluctantly, I chose “Look to the Future.”

I have great respect, admiration, and affection for CVS. Her teams have given me some great times at the RAC. Nothing, ever, has made me more proud of my school then her and her team’s reaction to the Imus comments. If I was a parent of a student athlete, I’d want my daughter to play for a coach, like CVS, dedicated to making her not just a ball player, but a woman of substance.

But, a coach’s covenant with her players, her fans, and her school is not just to be admirable, but to win.

Clearly the program has been in a major decline…

-since we had a team full of MacDonald’s all-americans who washed their own uniforms more than were coached into working as a team to win games;

-since players like April, who broke all her state’s scoring records, forgot how to shoot in Piscataway;

-since Aliyyah Handford, a hidden gem from Matee’s NJ high school, who many here spotted and felt we should have been able to get wound up at St. John’s;

-since we’ve had big after big who don’t player develop at all;

-since Brooklyn’s father saw what was happening and told her to get herself home to Texas;

-since Daisha Simmons left to go to Alabama and then Seton Hall (why the hell did that happen, I’d love to ask her);

-since Carlene left and we seemed to forget how to breakdown and game-plan for the specific strengths and weaknesses of teams;