ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Who else is still working?

Postman_1

All Conference
Gold Member
Mar 12, 2017
So who is still working with all that is going on? I am a IBEW Union electrician and have not missed any time yet. I am working tomorrow in New Brunswick and Monday in Somerset. Even if Murphy shuts down non essential business this weekend I guess they are deeming my job essential. I know I am lucky to work but nothing I am doing is essential. Its a construction job site at a data center. My boss is already trying to get some kind of badge made for our vehicles saying we are essential. I just dont get it. Seems like money over safety to me. My wife also works for the state taxation dept and she still has to go in as well.

Reactions: JRZEER
Both my wife and I are working from home. I'm in finance and she works in the general council's office at the museum of natural history.

Working from home for the foreseeable future. As a software engineer it's not a real issue, just remote connect into my work machine. Although I do wish I had that 2nd 24" monitor instead of the laptop screen. (But we all have to make sacrifices.) We are doing a 10AM conference call with the whole crew every morning just to keep some sense of continuity.

So who is still working with all that is going on? I am a IBEW Union electrician and have not missed any time yet. I am working tomorrow in New Brunswick and Monday in Somerset. Even if Murphy shuts down non essential business this weekend I guess they are deeming my job essential. I know I am lucky to work but nothing I am doing is essential. Its a construction job site at a data center. My boss is already trying to get some kind of badge made for our vehicles saying we are essential. I just dont get it. Seems like money over safety to me. My wife also works for the state taxation dept and she still has to go in as well.
456?

Wfh, operational risk and business continuity, @ global bank. Oversee global risk controls